top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrittney Savard

Get Outside

Updated: Mar 19, 2018

'Beautiful BC' is on all BC licence plates for a good reason. Below are two different amazing hikes and views of Cameron Lake on Vancouver Island.


The lower "trestle hike". More of a beginner hike (walking along the train tracks).

More advanced hike. Worth the hard work it takes to make it to the top because look at this view!


"May Your Search Through Nature, Lead You To Yourself"


Hiking with friends is such a good way to relieve stress

During this first 'beginner' hike me and my friend Sarah enjoyed the beautiful views of Cameron lake. This hike is super easily accessible (we got there in my little Honda Civic) and its not hard to get to since you just walk along the train tracks. The hike is pretty moderate in intensity although I found I lost my footing a few times due to walking on the tracks (very awkward to step at times). The hike is about 2 hours walking at a steady pace. There are 3-4 tressles along the way (if you are afraid of heights I wouldn't take on this hike).

During this first 'beginner' hike me and my friend Sarah enjoyed the beautiful views of Cameron lake. This hike is super easily accessible (we got there in my little Honda Civic) and its not hard to get to since you just walk along the train tracks. The hike is pretty moderate in intensity although I found I lost my footing a few times due to walking on the tracks (very awkward to step at times). The hike is about 2 hours walking at a steady pace. There are 3-4 trestles along the way (if you are afraid of heights I wouldn't take on this hike).

The second hike is around the same time frame as the first trestle hike but its more intense. The hike is straight up hill and can be quite the leg burner. It is a bit less of a view along the way as you're mostly in the trees (the other hike is in view of the lake for the most part). Another nice part about the harder hike is that its mostly in the shade so you get a bit of a break from the heat of the valley. I would really recommend this hike because of the view it takes you to. Although its a tough hike, it makes it a bit easier when you bring a lunch, and some friends to enjoy the reward of the beautiful lake view. Going on hikes, no matter the difficulty are great ways to get some fresh air, and to get active.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page